Our Council

The Pine Tree Council carries out the mission of the Boy Scouts of America in central, western and southern Maine through a locally operated non-profit corporation chartered by the national council and supported by local volunteers and contributors.  Our council is divided into four districts where Scouting is delivered to the local communities.

2021 Council Officers

Jack O'TooleCouncil President
Paul ConleyCouncil Commissioner
Matthew KlutzaritzScout Executive
William ThorntonTreasurer
Jeffrey DossImmediate Past President
Janet HansenVice President - Properties
Horace HortonVice President - Development
Michael L'AbbeVice President - Membership
Marc Libby, Sr.Vice President - At Large
Jim ThomasVice President - Program
Scott ValcourtVice President - Camping

Pine Tree Council 2020 Annual Report

Go Boldly Maine
Pine Tree Council Strategic Plan


Abnaki – serving Androscoggin, Oxford and Sagadahoc counties

Casco Bay – serving Cumberland county

Kennebec Valley – serving Franklin, Kennebec, Lincoln, Knox and Somerset counties

York – serving York county

Council Executive Board Members

Robert BarryJason BeamWilliam CoffinPaul Conley
Cameron D.Frederick DenicoWilliam DiffenderferJeffrey Doss
Thomas DunhamScott GabrielRoger GriswoldJanet Hansen
Horace HortonRyan KelleyWilliam KileyMike King
Michael L'AbbeMarc Libby, Sr.Melissa LibbyJack Lukin
Jeffrey MesserMike MirisolaGary MooreJack O'Toole
Lynne PicoraroJoseph SheltonWilliam SipperlyClinton Staples
Walt StinsonKelly SturmerLad TaylorJim Thomas
William ThorntonEric TurnerScott ValcourtPeter Ventre
Brandon WilkinsRichard Yerxa

History of the Pine Tree Council

Our council was organized in 1919, and at that time was known as the Portland Council, as it only included the city of Portland. Mr. Whitman Smith was the first Scout Executive, and during his term from 1919 until 1926, the balance of Cumberland County was added and the name changed to Cumberland County Council. The council was incorporated in 1927, and the land purchase of Camp William Hinds was made to honor the late son of Charles Hinds, who was on the Board of Trustees.  Mr. Herbert “Skipper” Patrick, for whom Patrick campsite is named, became the second Scout Executive in 1927 and kept this position until 1943. During this time, there were three other councils in Maine: the Katahdin Area Council in Bangor, the Pine Tree Council in Rockland and the York County Council in the Biddeford-Saco area. This arrangement of councils left a large area of Maine with no organized Scouting. Smaller councils grew in Lewiston-Auburn and Oxford and Franklin counties.

In 1933, the councils in southern and central Maine merged to formally become the Pine Tree Council, and in 1936 the York County Council gave up their charter and joined Pine Tree Council.  Early growth records show a youth membership of over 3,200 Scouts in 1933, over 6,000 in 1948 and doubling to over 12,000 members in 1958. The Council Service Center on Auburn Street in Portland was erected in 1959 to become the official headquarters of the Pine Tree Council and was dedicated as the Niss Service Center in the 1960s to honor the support to Scouting from Bill Niss.